Turn, Turn, Turn

This last week, there were lots of things to celebrate in my family. One of my nieces turned 21 on June 22. My favorite cousin (yes, I still have a favorite at the grand age of 46) celebrated her birthday on June 23rd.

My husband and I celebrated our 26th anniversary on Wednesday. Somehow being more than 25 years seems larger, longer, older. I am not sure why that is. I look at Steve now, and I see the gray hair at his temple. I see the smile lines at his eyes and mouth. The eyes that looked deep into mine that last Saturday in June 1985 still look at me with the same intensity. My heart still sings when I look at him. Okay, not all the time. But when I see him throwing our kids in the pool, or him holding our granddaughter at church, or driving us to our date night dinner, times like that?  Those times make my heart sing.

Our middle daughter turned 14 on June 27th. I took her and one of her best friends to an outdoor mall about an hour away from where we live. It is fun to spend time with teens while you are hanging back and letting them explore.

Today is my oldest daughter’s 2nd wedding anniversary. I have to say that it is a blessing to have them living just a few minutes away.

I love the seasons of celebrating.

Leave a Reply

